Personal Journey

It’s with a heavy heart that I share the passing of Tom Hummell, my husband, love,  best friend and soulmate and travel companion. He fought the good fight but cancer won.

We had many adventures, accomplished our goal of visiting all 63 National Parks, and enjoyed the outdoors together as well as our quiet times at home. Whether being at the cabin, having friends and relatives visit, whitewater rafting, hiking, traveling with our camper, attending Hummell family reunions and 173rd Airborne reunions or even our annual chainsaw wood-cutting expeditions, we were in it together and had a good time. He was a good man who will be greatly missed by many.

Tom always read my blogs before I posted them and often had good suggestions for improvement or clarity. I have park units we visited that I haven’t written about and intend to do that. There’s a book about our parks travels started in my head so hopefully I’ll actually get it written. My journey through the parks will certainly be different but I cherish the memories of our travels together.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Personal Journey

  1. Love and Respect. Incredible journal of some of your fantastic adventures you had with Tom. ❤

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Marlene,
    I’m sorry for your loss and happy for your many completed journeys. Aging with a life partner is a bit of a crap shoot. Sometimes one gets many journeys and sometimes the dream is cut short. It appears you were of the former group but there is never enough when you are happy as a couple. I’ve enjoyed your blogs and will await your book. Keep on keeping on! Stewart

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Jiim Potter says:

    Beautiful tribute, Marlene.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. dfarabee says:

    What a lovely post about Tom, your perfect travel partner. What a fortunate thing that you had so many good trips together. 💜♥️🏕️

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Ian says:

    Beautiful tribute and a good reminder to me of a quote from Margaret Gehrke that I try and emulate with my wife:

    “Let those who will buy land and hoard money. We will have our memories. Glad memories of golden experiences together.”

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Diana says:

    So sorry to hear about his passing, sending my condolences.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. I am so sorry to hear this news. I so enjoy the stories of your travels through the National Parks. And was glad to hear your in-person presentation a few years back at San Juan College’s ENCORE program. Blessings to you as you continue your journey.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment