Four Corners USA

When I decided to start including our adventures in the Four Corners region in my blog, I discovered that people who live here have a rather innate sense of what “Four Corners” means or maybe simply a sense of what it means to that individual. However, there is really no distinct circle you can draw on a map and say “this is it.” Four Corners Map

The Four Corners is a region consisting of the southwestern corner of Colorado, southeastern corner of Utah, northeastern corner of Arizona, and northwestern corner of New Mexico. The Four Corners is the only location in the United States where four states meet and is marked by the Four Corners Monument.


Much of the Four Corners region belongs to semi-autonomous Native American nations or is public land managed by the BLM (Bureau of Land Management), the National Forest Service or the National Park Service.

Although the Four Corners region is mostly rural, rugged and arid, it does actually include diverse ecosystems encompassing forests, grasslands, and deserts. As a result, it offers a variety of exploration possibilities. Our hikes have taken us through desert canyons, up forested mountains, along rushing streams and down dry arroyos.


Mesa Verde National Park, Colorado

Pueblo Bonito5

Chaco Culture National Historic Park, New Mexico


Canyonlands National Park, Utah

North Window

Monument Valley, Arizona

San Juan Mountains, Colorado

La Sal Mountains, Utah                                Wolfman Panel, Butler Wash, Utah

Bisti Wilderness, New Mexico